Home Programme Instructions Registration Venue Photos Sponsors
Great location, very nice hosts and a surprisingly international meeting. We enjoyed and valued it! (13th BSS participants)

We cordially invite you to participate in the 14th Bratislava Symposium on Saccharides "Glycochemistry for biology and medicine". The Symposium have been regularly organized since 1978 by the Institute of Chemistry, Center for Glycomics, Slovak Academy of Sciences. The scientific program of the 14th BSS will cover principal aspects of recent advances in the fields as Chemistry & Synthesis of Saccharides, Glycobiology & Glycomics, Glycans & Health, Glycoconjugates & Glycomaterials and Structure & Analyses.
Early-bird registration: March 15, 2017
castle03.jpg LOCATION
The Symposium is traditionally held at the Congress Center of the Slovak Academy of Sciences in Smolenice Castle (50 km northeast from Bratislava) at the foot of Little Carpathian Mountains, the prominent wine region of Slovakia. The accommodation is possible at the conference venue. Attractive interiors of the Castle and beautiful natural surroundings provide a special atmosphere for scientific discussions, relaxation and meeting friends.

The Bratislava Symposia on Saccharides became popular among scientists for their high scientific standard as well as for friendly informal atmosphere throughout whole symposium. The meetings also provide a unique opportunity for young scientists to present their research and themself, and to establish the first international contacts. Social program will include Welcome Reception, sightseeing tour with Gala Dinner, and Farewell Dinner.

The official language of the Symposium is English.


Bookmark 14BSS website and keep up to date. We are looking forward to welcoming you in Smolenice.
You can find us also on facebook_logo.jpg

INQUIRIES please address to:
Tel.: +421-2-54772080

Jaroslav Katrlík

Friedrich Altmann
BOKU, Vienna, Austria

Tomáš Bertók
Institute of Chemistry SAS, Bratislava, Slovakia

Vito Ferro
University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia

Sabine L. Flitsch
University of Manchester, Manchester, UK

Stephen C. Fry
University of Edinburg, Edinburg, UK

Lokesh Joshi
National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland

Mária Matulová
Institute of Chemistry SAS, Bratislava, Slovakia

Nikolay E. Nifantiev
Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia

Francesco Peri
University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy

Vojtěch Spiwok
University of Chemistry and Technology, Prague, Czech Republic

Hiroaki Tateno
AIST, Ibaraki, Japan

Michaela Wimmerová
Masaryk University, Brno, Czech Republic

Chunlin Xu
Åbo Akademi University, Turku/Åbo, Finland